MB Fabulous Tris…Backpacking again

I’m in the process of half marathon training for Beat the Bleach , but I took some time off to go backpacking with my sister and dad to go backpacking on the Pacific Crest trail earlier this month. At one point in my life I had been an avid backpacker. However, the short version of the story is I burnt out on backpacking at a similar time as running. Somehow this trip seemed like the best time to start backpacking again.

During the hike I made a couple rookie mistakes. I underestimated the amount of water I needed to bring by half. I ended up drinking a lot of water at camp each night and had to ration out my water more carefully during the day if we didn’t cross any streams. I forgot how much blisters could hurt. It had been quite some time since I had gotten blisters. I didn’t stop to take care of my feet in time and by day two I developed several blisters.

Even with these mishaps the beauty of the wilderness is indescribable. It transformed from burn out forrest to pine trees and mountain lakes framed by a mountains. Many times the vistas or camping spots reminded me how small I was, but woven into the larger web of the earth. I felt myself relax into the indescribable beauty.

It was great to share the trip with my sister and dad. My dad is the one who introduced me to backpacking and the woods. He’s healthy and in shape, but I don’t know how many more opportunities I will have to backpack with him again. On the trail he told me stories from his life and adventures of hiking other parts of the Pacific Crest Trail. I gave him tips from my running about how to best handle hills. He played along with my joke about how I was going to write a memoir about my time on the Pacific Crest Trail. I’m thankful to have made this memory and return back to backpacking.

 

jump

Leave a Reply

