MB Fabulous Joins… The Oiselle Volée

When I came out of running retirement seven years ago I decided to run alone. Okay, that is not completely true. Part of the reason I came out of retirement was to deal with a huge life change by running a race with my husband. At the time it seemed romantic to restart running races in the town my husband met and fell in love. However, I trained for the race by myself and after the race I ran by myself.

It was odd I decided to run alone because I ran on a dynamic cross-country team in high school. When I’m honest the major reason I trained alone was because I felt embarrassed. I felt slow. I didn’t want witnesses to my sub-par running.

Six years later I still rarely ran with other people. Occasionally, I ran with my husband. When I trained for my first half marathon an old friend and cross-country teammate visited and we ran together a few times. Last year I ended up convincing that friend and my husband to participate in a 70.3 Ironman relay  with me and received a little taste of what it was like to be on a team again.

My husband told me about Oiselle, a women’s running apparel company which embodied my beliefs about running.  Scrolling with Oiselle’s website I found out about the Volée, a team and sisterhood of runners of all paces from across the globe. It piqued my interest, but at the time there was no way to join it.

Earlier last month a friend of mine and I discussed Oiselle and how awesome it would be to join the Volée. She sent me a message about conversation our conversation mid-April. I thought, “I’m going to email Oiselle and see if and when they would be expanding Volée membership. The worse is they could tell me no.” The next day I received an email inviting me to join the Volée. They literally had already planned to start inviting people the day after I sent the email. I giggled in disbelief of the coincidence in timing!

As I stared at the invite I realized how profoundly I missed being on a team. I’m excited to meet my fellow teammates!  I’m looking forward to the adventures of being a Volée member. Head Up, Wings Out!april23

 

Leave a Reply

